Governor (Yet to be appointed)

Chairman of the Board


The Bank of Uganda derives its mandate from Article 161 (1) of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, 1995, and from the Bank of Uganda Act (Chapter 51, Laws of Uganda). Article 162 of the Constitution and Section 4 of the Bank of Uganda Act (Chapter 51, Laws of Uganda) spell out the Bank’s functions.


Article 161 [2] of the Constitution 1995, vests the authority of Bank of Uganda in the Board of Directors.  The BoU Board is a unitary or one-tier Board with the ultimate responsibility for the management, general affairs, direction, performance and long- term success of the Bank. The Board of Directors, the governing body of the Bank consists of:
  1. The Governor, who shall be the Chairperson.
  2. The Deputy Governor who shall be the Deputy Chairperson.
  3. Five other Directors.