Compilation forms BS100 & MD100


Payment systems refer to the rules, procedures, and mechanisms for transferring money between two or more financial institutions and their customers.

Acts & Regulations

2000: Bank of Uganda Act

2004: Financial Institutions Act

2003: Micro Deposit Taking Institutions Act

2004: Foreign Exchange Act

2005: Financial Institutions Licensing Regulations

2005: Financial Institutions Credit Reference Regulations

2004: Microfinance Deposit Taking Institutions Regulations

2006: Foreign Exchange (Forex Bureaux and Money Remitters) Regulations

2010: Financial Institutions (Revision of Minimum Capital Requirements) Instrument

2011: Financial Consumer Protection Guidelines

2013: The Financial Institutions (Foreign Exchange Business) (Amendment) Rules, 2013

2016: Financial Institutions (Amendment) Act, 2016

Tier 4 Micro finance Institutions & Money Lenders Act, 2016                                    
The National Payments Systems Act 2020

Framework for the identification of Domestic Systemically important Banks (DSIBs)

The National Payment Systems (Agents) Regulations, 2021

The National Payment Systems (Sandbox) Regulations, 2021
The National Payment Systems Oversight Framework - June 2021
National Payment Systems Regulations, 2021

Micro Finance Deposit-Taking Institutions (Amendment of Second Schedule) Instrument, 2022 

Financial Institutions (Amendment of Third Schedule) Instrument, 2022

Financial Institutions (Credit Referencing Bureau) Regulations, 2022

Consolidated Corporate Goverance Guidelines

Risk Assessment Guidelines for SFIs in Uganda

Targeted Financial Sanctions Guidelines for Supervised Financial Institutions

The Financial Institutions (Revision of Minimum Capital Requirements) Instrument, 2022

Financial Institutions (Agent Banking) (Amendment) Regulations, 2023

Financial Institutions (Preference and Appraised Book Value) Regulations 2023

Micro Finance Deposit Taking Institutions (Registered Societies) Regulations, 2023

Financial Institutions (Amendment) Act 2023

The Foreign Exchange (Amendment) Act, 2023

Financial Institutions (Liquidity) Regulations, 2023

Micro Finance Deposit-Taking Institutions (Amendment) Act 2022
Other Financial Institution Regulations 


More About Bank of Uganda

The Bank of Uganda (BoU) is the Central Bank of the Republic of Uganda. It was opened on the 15th  August 1966. It is 100% owned by the Government of Uganda but it is not a government Department

The Bank of Uganda conducts all its activities with the aim of Fulfilling its Mission.  These activities are carried out under the mandate of the Bank of Uganda Act, 2000 and other legislature.

According to Article 161 of the Constitution of the Republic of Uganda, the authority of the Bank of Uganda shall vest in a Board which shall consist of a Governor, a Deputy Governor and not more than five other members.